IMG_1673

I’ve been wanting to post about this for a while now, but I didn’t really have the mood to. This year hasn’t exactly been the best year for me. Not only did I have to deal with all the stress that I’ve been facing in school, I’ve also had some problems with a good friend of mine. So for the past week leading up to today, I’ve actually been dreading the moment that I officially turn 16.

The saddest part of having my birthday just three short weeks from one of the most important examinations that I’ll be taking in my life, is that I can’t bake my own birthday cake. As you know, my aunt gave me two vanilla beans earlier this year, and I had promised myself that I would definitely use them in my birthday cake.

Definitely. IMG_1667

Two weeks ago, I realized that baking my own cake would be very impractical as I would probably spend the whole day just decorating it. That’s not exactly the best idea when I still have to much to cover in the next two weeks. So I thought, let’s make a compromise. I’ll bake something REALLY simple and use my vanilla pods another time. I spent 15 minutes making a lovely and rich Lavender Chocolate Ganache last night, and I was already planning to make an awesome chocolate tart. Sadly, things did not go as well as planned as Mum told me I would be sending the wrong message to others if I baked my own birthday “cake” and brought it to school. Ah well, so there goes my awesome tart.

A few hours after dinner, Mum and Dad went out to buy my brother’s breakfast. While they were out, I spent my time figuring out Biology. When they came back half an hour later, Mom was carrying a cake in her hands.

Yes, she bought me a birthday cake. This was one of the very few times that I’ve been surprised by my family for my birthday as it’s just not our tradition to do so.

EDITED!

Ah, I was so distracted by the thought of turning 16 that I forgot to add that I loved the cake and my parents are awesome for having surprised me.

Love is where home is. Does that make sense to you? I hope it does!

IMG_1655

Anyway, gotta go now! Before I do, I would really like to thank Mr Chue for lending me the DSLR. Although I couldn’t take that many pictures, I had a awesome time playing around with the functions! I LOVE SMALL APERTURES. (: The pictures on this post were taken by a Canon 450D.

IMG_1519IMG_1470IMG_1583

