IMG_1086

Gosh, I’m beginning to feel the pressure. Again. Prelim 2’s coming in August, and the time table’s already out!

Anyway, my seniors and I wanted to have a little gathering. It’s been a while since we’ve met, so we arranged for a meeting tody to celebrate SY’s birthday. So i decided to make a simple cheesecake for us to share:D

The recipe’s the same as the one for the strawberry cheesecake, except i substituted yogurt with thickened cream , added 2 extra tablespoons of cornflour and a little chopped chocolate,

It was really good. The previous one that I made, had a light tang that came from the yogurt. This one however, was really rich and sweet. Creamy, cheesy and slightly chocolate-y at the same time.  Although the base was rather thick, it did not overwhelm the taste 0f the cheese, but rather, it balanced out the richness of the filling. Overall, it wasn’t too bad, considering that I had modified the original recipe so much that it certainly did not taste like the one I made the first time a few months ago. Hope they’ll enjoy it!

IMG_1080

Updated: They loved it:D  4 of them finished the little 6 inch cake 😀

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about some things. Recently, Mom commented that I was too ambitious. I’ve never thought that way about myself before. Trying my best  to score the highest in class, to be the best tennis player, to bake well and so on is like second nature to me. Furthermore, when I don’t get what I had been subconsciously aiming for, I get pretty upset.

So why am i rambling on about all this?

No, its not because I watched Harry Potter and I’m hoping to be worth 10 millions bucks in the future, like Daniel Radcliffe is.

Anyway, I was just visiting food blogs and I was thinking, wow, they have so many comments and most probably numerous hits too. So I began feeling rather sad about my little cheesecake above, as it is rather simple as compared to what others attempt.

Then I realized that, hey, Sweet Surrender’s not even a month old. It’s practically a baby! Moreover, I had also made some calculation errors. I haven’t been baking for close to 3 years. It’s more of only one and a half. WOW. So I’ve progressed from making failure brownies to creating wonderful cheesecakes that I think up of myself in just one and a half years.

Not bad, huh! So I guess it’s time for me to stop sweating the small stuff and start living life more happily, like M.

