So, the first week of school has passed. The work load’s still manageable, thats why you still see posts:D

Anyway, I made strawberry cheesecake last week, and I wanted to substitute ricotta cheese with yogurt. Since I’ve never tried ricotta cheese, I didn’t know whether yogurt would be a possible substitution. In the end, my cheesecake had to take a lot of chilling before it was firm:/  Furthermore, the strawberries were really sour, so I didn’t enjoy the cheesecake very much, but luckily, I think my relatives did.

So i decided to try making them again, this time with a thicker yogurt, and the strawberries below.

ah, beautiful

ah, beautiful

Gosh, those were DELICIOUS, and really pretty.  I didn’t want to buy them at first, but when I realized I could actually smell them, I knew that they were going to be good. I was not disappointed!

strawberry cheesecake "stars"

strawberry cheesecake "stars"

IMG_0969So here’s the recipe:

For base:

18 digestive biscuits, crushed finely
1/2 cup butter, melted

For the cheesecake:

1 package cream cheese, softened
1/2  cup extra thick and creamy yogurt ( It will contain gelatine)
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 tbsp constarch
1/4 tsp lemon zest
1/2 tsp vanilla essence

For the strawberry jam:

300 grams strawberries
sugar (add as much as you want to. I used 2tbsp)

  1. Mash strawberries and sugar together. Cook over medium low heat until thickened
  2. Combine biscuits and butter. Press into bottom and sides of molds, and bottom of tart pan.
  3. Preheat oven to 150C
  4. Beat cream cheese and yogurt until blended and smooth
  5. Beat in eggs, sugar, cornstarch, lemon zest and vanilla until smooth and blended (This will take a while)
  6. Fill half of the molds first, add in 1/2 tsp of strawberry jam. Top with cheese mixture until the strawberry is fully covered.
  7. Bake for about 20-25 minutes, or until cheesecake is only slightly wobbly in the center (for molds). Bake 30-35 minutes for tart.
  8. Chill at least 1 hr
