At 1pm today, I agreed with S to make M&S a birthday cake. I had the recipe in mind, and the tools to do it. I reached home at 3 and…

Here I am, I’m sitting here, still in my apron (yes i wear one, to keep my school uniform clean), stinky, covered in chocolate and extremely tired.

I. Have. Just. Finished. The. Most. Complex. Cake. I. Have. Ever. Made.

(didnt bother editing whatsoever. too tired!)
she's a monster. a beautiful one at that.

she's a monster. a beautiful one at that.

IMG_0874I think, probably no one else in Cedar will ever again have such a cake made by me. EVER.
I finished at 6.45.

GOSH. I am tired. This is the same Lemon Cake with Lemon Curd and Chocolate Ganche, except more, um (hopefully) sophisticated?

I cut a hole in the bottom layer and filled that up with curd. I sandwiched it with the top layer. and due to the different sizes of the pan. i had to trim the top layer. IT WAS DISASTROUS. Crumbs were EVERYWHERE. And since I was using ganche, which is supposed to be smooth, I had an crazy time doing the sides. And when I was done, it look horrendous. It was uneven and rough, and I was feeling rather worried. Who would even dare eating such a horrendous cake?!
(okay, maybe it wasn’t THAT ugly, but the ganche was really uneven. EXTREMELY) The whole time i was making this cake, I was thinking: if I walked out to Obolo now and purchased a cake, it would be 100 times lesser trouble and 100 times more beautiful. But i really didn’t want to admit defeat. Decorating this cake was something like putting make up on a male dinosaur. It was stubborn and mean. Moreover, this dinosaur had a really pimply and ugly face, so the foundation was a nightmare to put on.

In the end however, it relented, and I’m proud to say, I’ve transformed this heck of an ugly dinosaur into one that you would look twice at.

Anyway, Im kinda getting paid for that. $15:D Although the amount of work that I put in is worth so much more than that price, I think that the experience I had making it is worth more than anything else.

I actually wanted to post about the Lemon Rosemary Shortbread that I made yesterday, but it seems this dino cake has taken the spotlight. However, the shortbread was really nice too, so I won’t deny it the attention it deserves. Here is it:

golden rosemary lemon hearts

golden rosemary lemon hearts

IMG_0867IMG_0830

I got the inspiration from the Lemon thyme shortbread that Elissa made. Anyway these turned out wonderful. I think I overbaked them a little, because they were slightly crunchy, but I think they were nice that way. So yepp.

Lemon Rosemary Shortbread Hearts
(original recipe from Better Homes and Garden’s New Baking Book)

1 1/4 cups flour
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon creamer/milk powder
1/2 tsp rosemary, ground into a powder
1/2 tsp lemon zest
1/2 cup butter, extremely cold, cut into 1cm cubes
scant 1/2 tsp lemon essence

  1. Preheat oven 160 C
  2. Combine flour, rosemary, lemon zest, sugar and creamer. Mix until blended.
  3. Rub the flour mixture into the butter, until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Add the lemon essence and form the mixture into a ball. Knead twice or thrice until smooth.
  4. Divide into half and keep the other half refrigerated. Roll half of the dough until 3 mm thick. Using a 1 1/4 inch heart shaped cutter, cut out as many hearts as you can.
  5. Bake for 10-13 minutes until cookies are set.
  6. Cool and store in an air tight container.

Enjoy!

